L’Oreal Colour Riche Collection Privee Nude Lipsticks

When compiling my recent ‘30 Thing to Do Under 30 list’, finding my perfect nude lipstick was number 15 on the list. Bang on cue, L’Oreal releases its L’Oreal Colour Riche Collection Privee Range – a selection of nude lipstick shades, one for each of its celebrity spokes-models.

Let’s be honest, marketing any lipstick as a ‘nude’ shade is a misnomer – everyone has different colouring and a shade could be too light, too dark, too brown or too pink. For me, tones that lean a little too much on the beige/ brown side make me look dead, and to compound matters, with bad teeth.

Cheryl Cole, Doutzen Kroes, Frieda Pinto, Julianne Moore, Eva Longoria and Liya Kebede have worked with the L’Oreal’s colour designer Orrea Light to create their own perfect nude shade (I believe there are other shades picked by L’Oreal spokes-models available in different markets).

This is a neat idea from L’Oreal and works well given their models all have pretty individual looks and represent a range of ethnicities. The concept behind this range should help take a little of the mystery out of finding your own perfect nude shade, as you can align yourself with the spokesmodel with the most similar colouring – even if the shade isn’t absolutely perfect, it offers a really helpful jumping off point if you’re new to make or just not sure where to start perfecting your nude lip.

color-riche-collection-privee-julianne-moore-barely-peach

For me, I made a beeline for Julianne Moore as we share a similar auburn-haired, pale skinned colouring. Down to the product itself – Julianne’s nude is a beautiful peachy, rosy nude – a real ‘your lips but better’ colour for me, exactly as it should be! I also love the packaging of these lipsticks – they’ve replaced their standard metallic case with a matt black bullet – I just love the feel of these. There is also a very satisfying ‘click’ when popping the lid on and off – such a small detail but one which I think can make a product feel more luxurious than it is. What is the same however, is the distinctive Colour Riche smell – I don’t hate it, but equally I don’t love it. In general I prefer more fruity notes to my lip products but that is an entirely personal preference and there’s nothing intrinsically wrong with the scent.

In summary, I’d say this is definitely a range to look at if you’re in the marketing for a nude lipstick – especially if, like me, you’ve struggled to find your ideal shade or just aren’t sure where to start.

The collection is available from Boots, priced at £8.19 per lipstick.

Leave a Reply

