Monthly Favourites #1 – July

Well, we’re now into month eight of 2013 – where is the year going!?

I thought I’d do my first monthly round-up of favourite products, and there’s a mix of make-up, skincare and haircare this time round.

photo (2)

Skincare

Nuxe – Reve de Miel Lipbalm

I picked this up when I was in Marseille for the day a few weeks ago, along with some other French skincare pieces. This lip balm is amazingly moisturising, but (and this is my favourite feature) completely matt and not at all shiny. I’m not a fan of shine on my lips, and hate the slippery, gloopy feeling you get with so many lip products. This smells and tastes great as well, so it’s hard not to lick it straight back off again!

Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado
As part of my skincare revamp, I was on the hunt for a simple, effective eye cream that didn’t break the bank and this fitted the bill perfectly. I’m only 28, so I don’t need anything too powerful yet, just something to keep the area feeling fresh and hydrated.

This product has an interesting texture – when you first take a little from the pot it feels very rich and thick, but if you work it between your fingers it turns into a more water-like texture which is really easy to massage into the delicate eye area. I’ll definitely be re-purchasing this one!

Nivea Shower Gel with Oil
I love these – they feel so moisturising and smell gorgeous – like a far more luxe product! They are usually priced at £2.50 per bottle, which I feel is a bit steep as they’re so often on offer – I just stock up then.

Haircare
Toni and Guy Cleanse Shampoo and Conditioner for Fine Hair

I have pretty fine hair, though lots of it, and I’m enjoying using shampoos designed to add some body and oomph, and stop it clinging quite so tightly to my head. This Toni and Guy pairing had left my hair feeling so clean, soft and smooth and with a bit more substance to it – really loving these, and think I’ll repurchase and alternate with my other favourite, L’Oreal Ever Riche, in the fine dry hair variety.

Make-up
Soap and Glory – One Heck of a Blot Face Powder and Glow All Out Luminizing Powder

I’m loving these so much this month, I’m not going to talk too much and instead I’m going to do a full review tomorrow!

Nails
Barry M Jelly Nail Paint in Lychee and Guava

It’s no major surprise I’ve included these I suppose, as the whole blogosphere has been going crazy for these. I will say that I find the texture does take a bit of getting used to, as it is very thick and you can only do one layer at a time (if you try to go straight back over to touch up any area it seems to drag – it needs to be completely separate coats with time to dry in between) but the colour pay-off packs a punch, and the finish is super glossy. These didn’t last massively long on me, but no nail polishes do sadly. I tend to get bored and want to change the colour anyway!

Fragrance
Miller Harris, L’air de Rien

I’d been lovingly smelling this every time I went into Space NK, but couldn’t quite bring myself to splurge the cash on it. A few weeks ago I was browsing the Space NK online sale, and there it was – half price! For reasons unknown in retrospect (why didn’t I go for the bigger bottle!?) I ordered the 50ml size. I also dithered over the candle but didn’t take it – now I wish I had, as it would make a beautiful home fragrance too.

This scent is a stunning oriental fragrance, with notes of oak moss, neroli, amber and vanilla. I just can’t stop smelling my wrist when I wear this – it is undoubtedly one of my all time favourite fragrances – I think the dry-down is really unusual and wearing this perfume makes me feel sophisticated and chic.

Let me know your July favourites in the comments below!

One comment

Leave a Reply

